MOTD- Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat (???) in “Sage Smash”

Hi folks!

Hope you’ve all been having a great weekend! I went to a friend’s going away to college party, and the tears were flowing at the end. I’m going to miss all of my amazing friends who are beginning their college journeys in the next few weeks. To anyone out there starting college soon, good luck to you all! And to anyone in my shoes who’s beginning the college application process, good luck, it’s going to be a long road (but hopefully a rewarding one!)

Today I have for you an… interestingly marketed nail polish. It’s in the Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat line, and it’s called Sage Smash. The color is very similar to OPI’s Simply Smash-ingjust a lot more on the bright, spring green side than the OPI’s gold. The microglitters are also not as densely packed in this polish as in the OPI, so the coat is not opaque- it’s more of a glitter topper. And, um, that’s where the problem begins. Here’s the picture of what the polish is supposed to look like once it has shattered:

Screen shot 2013-08-18 at 11.12.57 PM

 

But here’s what really happens…

80J3d2t6Nh7-8sZVjSlQmXYniS9vLLpDU-8cQO2o2FQ

 

Maybe it’s just me, but um, the results I got and the results Sally Hansen is advertising are markedly different… While there is still some crackling (most notably on my pinky and pointer finger), it’s really not doing much… The glitter is still very beautiful on its own though, and dries matte (like most crackle polishes) which gives an interesting effect to the nail polish. While the desired effect is kinda a big fat zero in my book (crackles should probably stick to solid colors, and not glitter toppers), the glitter itself is nice on its own, and works well over the base color of pink I have here (and probably would also look good over dark blues, navys, or black). Pictures below are two coats of Sage Smash over Love and Beauty Red, no topcoat.

Sunlight

Sunlight

Natural, indoor lighting

Natural, indoor lighting

Overall, I’m disappointed with the fact this polish did not meet my crackling expectations. But the silver lining is I gained a fun, new matte green glitter topper for my collection! Sally Hansen polishes retail at most drugstores (like Walgreens and Riteaid) as well as most beauty stores (like Sally’s and Ulta) as well as on their website, here. Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat polishes generally retail between $5-$7, but I got this one on clearance at Target for $1.87!

So what do you think of this green glitter? And what do you think of my pairing of it with a hot pink base? I think it reminds me of a watermelon, no? Let me know what you think in the comments!

~Beth~

 

2 thoughts on “MOTD- Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat (???) in “Sage Smash”

  1. the same thing happened when I bought my Sally Hansen crackle. It gets better if you use it a few times, but I’ve found laying it on thick with the first coat helps a bit. I think if it stays a glitter topper consistency, a hot pink base would look really cool underneath it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

